Multiplex: What's New | Site Map | Community | News My Multiplex Account | Sign In 
in Search
Multiplex » Integral Institute Forums » General Community Forums » Integral By Topic » Re: Integral Psychology & Psychotherapy Thread!

Integral Psychology & Psychotherapy Thread!

Last post 03-20-2007, 1:14 PM by ralphweidner. 46 replies.
Page 3 of 4 (47 items)   < Previous 1 2 3 4 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  07-07-2006, 9:48 PM 1115 in reply to 1093

Re: Integral Psychology & Psychotherapy Thread!

Hey Joanne, and Sue,

I thought I'd jump in here a bit about shadow and ego atttachement.  I studied a bit of the depth psychology at Pacifica Grad Inst, and my understanding of shadow as it is described generally these days by most post-Jungian depth peoples is that it is the aspects of self that our ego tends to disapprove of.  Robert Bly has a great essay about the long bag we all drag around behind us filled with all the aspects of self that were rejected by family, peers, society and ultimately the self.  Now this does not necessarily always mean "negative" aspects, for many of our "positive" aspects may have been put into shadow because our environment frowned upon them (they threated the status quo of our parent's egos and were probably part of their shadows too) and thus we get demonizing and idealizing projections.  So in some way, ego attachment (defined as when the ego says, "Look how swell I am!") would seem to me to feed the shadow.  Whatever the ego becomes attached to, it will want to disassociate from its opposite.  So maybe ego attachment doesn't necessarily = shadow, but it surely facilitates it, and maybe we could go as far to say that the shadow would not exist without it.

I don't know if any of that is helpful or even pertinent, but I felt compelled to share my take on it.