Multiplex: What's New | Site Map | Community | News My Multiplex Account | Sign In 
in Search

Stripping the gurus: The dis-integration of Ken Wilber

Last post 05-09-2008, 10:27 AM by schalk. 19 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (20 items)   1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  04-18-2008, 10:23 AM 47085

Stripping the gurus: The dis-integration of Ken Wilber

I am not sure where to post this but has anybody here read this book: http://normaneinsteinbook.com/ also here: http://www.strippingthegurus.com/stgsamplechapters/wilber.asp

"Norman Einstein": The Dis-Integration of Ken Wilber will show you why the community around Wilber is being increasingly called a "cult," even by former founding members of I-I who have seen it first-hand."

I am a newbie in kw studies and this book strikes me as a kind of shock about wilber. But what do you guys think about it? Just plain bitterness from the critics? Jealousy? Misinterpreted? True? Kinda true? Does this matter or not? Old news?  Just some crazy boomeritis?

Please send some feedback.

•  04-18-2008, 2:16 PM 47135 in reply to 47085

Re: Stripping the gurus: The dis-integration of Ken Wilber

Muggur:

I appreciate your question. I would like to offer a friendly response that may not be what you were expecting.

I do not know Mr. Falk. But it is clear that he is a smart guy. And probably a smart-ass sometimes too. Which is fine.

(The reference to Norman Einstein came from a famous misstatement of the football player Joe Theismann.)

It is also clear that what Mr. Falk is most interested in is distinguishing between verifiable truths and b.s. He is trained as an electrical engineer, a field that makes pretty rigorous distinctions between truth and falsity, or valid and invalid connections.

I have no opinions to share about Mr. Falk's criticism of Ken's body of thought per se.